Springtime Thoughts

“You become mature when you become the authority of your own life.”–Joseph Campbell

I have noticed that some of the most accomplished and successful people I’ve met–writers, academics, business people, whatever field it is–are often the most unassuming and nicest and most supportive. This isn’t always the case, but it has happened often enough that it seems like a pattern. Perhaps these folks don’t need to prove anything, maybe they’re internally motivated and don’t need affirmation from anyone. Just something I’ve been reminded of now and again: if you can do something well, you just get on with it, and perhaps you can help some people along the way. Maybe this is simply maturity; it is an attitude that anyone can have, I think, if they want to, but some are more naturally kind.

Spring, Pieter Bruegel the Elder, 1565

On the other hand, I have known folks who are high achievers who are the opposite, and who constantly want you to know how much they know, how smart they are, how great and talented and so on. Or, worse, they put others down to make themselves feel better. They make cutting comments because, it seems, they are deeply unhappy. But these people are mostly just sad, and do not leave much of an impression, other than they are irritating to be around. I think they’re in the minority, but they make more noise so we sometimes feel like successful people aren’t so nice.

No matter what your profession, or what role you have to play in life, I think, as I get older, that the most important thing is being kind. It is just a better, more peaceful and happier way to go through life than the alternatives. When you go through your day simply being kind, you’re spreading good feelings, hopefully helping people to be better themselves. Find other people like this, and stick with them. Do what you have to and ignore the people who want to bring you down. I think this is an important key to success, however you define that for yourself. Peace and good luck.

“I can alter my life by altering my attitude. He who would have nothing to do with thorns must never attempt to gather flowers.”
― Henry David Thoreau

Leave a comment