An Interview

Here’s an interview I did with Bee Lindy at her site, Bookpleasures. It was a lot of fun to do, and you can learn a bit more about my novel THE OSPREY MAN there.

Today is also the last day you can enter to win a copy of the book, through Teddy Rose Book Reviews

http://www.bookpleasures.com/websitepublisher/articles/9743/1/In-Conversation-With-Christopher-Tuthill-Author-of-The-Osprey-Man/Page1.html

I’m lucky to have a ticket to see George RR Martin in conversation with Neil Gaiman at Symphony Space tonight, which should be a great event. I have seen Neil Gaiman give a talk before, several years back when his excellent novel The Ocean at the End of the Lane came out. But I’m a huge fan of George RR Martin’s work, and have never seen him in person, so I’m excited. I’ve been reading A Song of Ice and Fire since the early 2000s, when my brother in law gave me a copy of Game of Thrones one Christmas. I really hope I get to read Winds of Winter soon! I’ll be sure to report back on tonight’s event. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed House of the Dragon, which is a great show in its own right. I was concerned it might seem anticlimactic after Game of Thrones, but they’ve done a fantastic job bringing us back to Westeros.

When I finished Dance With Dragons, I was sorry that there were no more Westeros novels (though I happily read Fire and Blood when it arrived), so I set out to read the rest of Martin’s books. For those of you who haven’t read them, his other novels are enormous fun too. Tuf Voyaging is a wonderful collection of stories about space merchant Haviland Tuf. Fevre Dream is his vampire novel, and Armageddon Rag is another good one, about a rock journalist and a seemingly cursed band called the Nazgul (of course). And I recently got an early novel he wrote, Dying of the Light, that I’m eager to read. His story collections are also filled with great stuff.

I just finished Ray Russell’s Haunted Castles, a collection of his Gothic stories. I’d never read him before, but the book was so creepy and haunting that I immediately got his novel The Case Against Satan, which I’m halfway through. His stories are pretty grim, but I also find them great fun to read. Always so many good books to read, and not enough time.

Leave a comment